• Main page

2018 Academy Coaching Line Up Announced

AFL Goulburn Murray has finalised its coaching structure for the 2018 Tatura Milk AFL Goulburn Murray Youth Development Academy program.

With training bases at Kialla, Princess Park, Rochester and Echuca, the evolving nature of the program has also necessitated the appointment of some fantastic new coaches to this season’s program.

The Rochester U13 group will be headed up by experienced coach, Paul Clarke, who has an incredible record from his time at the Cairns Saints as well as having recently coached U18’s for Echuca in the Goulburn Valley. He will be assisted by 2016 Goulburn Valley Football League interleague squad member, Bart Phillips, who has decided to combine his transition in to a senior Assistant Coaching role at Lockington with our Youth Academy.

The Echuca squad will gain the services of former Echuca, Moama and Lockington Best and Fairest winner, as well as senior premiership coach, Adrian Dohnt. Ady will join forces with Flip Evans to mentor the U14 group.

AFL Goulburn Murray Football Development Manager, Trevor Mellington is delighted with the appointments.

“It is a fantastic outcome for the Youth of our region to be able to attract such high quality applicants to these positions” he said.

“To have such a wonderful mix of experience in terms of coaching at a high level, outstanding former players and up and coming development coaches is a perfect outcome.”

“We are committed to facilitating a coaching pathway as well as a development Academy for players.  As an example, Stephen Ash, who will coach our U15 group in 2018 has spent the summer period as an Assistant coach with the Murray Bushrangers U16 team.”

“To have coaches involved that possess experience at TAC Cup along with high level playing exposure means that this experience, knowledge and passion can be shared with fellow coaches and the playing group.”

“Retained coaches from the 2017 program include: Cameron Stewart, Luke Moodie, Phillip Evans, Stephen Ash, Brett Warburton, Daryl Chalcraft, Phil Guthrie, Ross Opie, Jamie Atkinson and Damien Saxon and these people will be instrumental in mentoring the new appointments.”

The 2018 Squad will be announced via on Tuesday 30 January.

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners