• Main page

2018 Murray Bushrangers TAC Cup Under 18 Male Squad Announced

The Murray Bushrangers have announced their TAC Cup Under 18 Squad for 2018.

Talent Manager Mick Wilson explained the selection process began last season.

“Clubs nominated their payers from the under 16, 17 and 18 competitions in June 2017 and since then there’s been 27 training sessions, three intra-club and one TAC Cup practice match.The series of training sessions, trial games and athletic tests have allowed the coaching staff to select the players they believe are best suited to perform well at TAC Cup level”

The squad is represented by 22 clubs across the Goulburn Murray, North East and Southern NSW regions.

“We really value the incredible support from junior and senior clubs across the whole region. These volunteers and coaches are so essential in providing a platform for young players to develop as quality people and also to pursue an elite AFL pathway”

Wilson also explained the high quality number of players who missed selection.

“The selection process is very subjective and there are many examples of players such as Steve Johnson who missed stages of Murray Bushrangers selection. We just encourage those boys to continue their dedication and commitment to playing well for their home club”

Bushrangers Coach Leon Higgins also highlighted the rigorous selection process.

“It was a very tough selection process and whist there were some disappointed players, each of these players are well prepared for the upcoming season where we will continue to monitor their development. History suggests that a number of these players will develop and come into squads either throughout the season or in coming years”

The Murray Bushrangers launch their 2018 Season against Gippsland Power in Round 1 at Punt Road on Sunday March 25.

Goulburn Murray Players Below or full squad can be found here

Mark Marriott Benalla Saints
Patrick Warner Benalla Saints
Jimmy Boyer Congupna
Robert Paradzayi Euroa
Joel Sanford Mansfield
Ajak Dang Mooroopna
Lachlan Sykes Mooroopna
Laitham Vandermeer Mooroopna
Tom Boyd Nathalia
Hudson Kaak Seymour
Lachlan Ash Shepparton
Jordon Butts Shepparton
James Butts Shepparton
Luke Whyte Shepparton Swans
Edward Adams Shepparton United
Zane Barzen Shepparton United
Jye Chalcraft Shepparton United
Kyle Clarke Shepparton United
Charlie Hill Tatura

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners