• Main page


AFL Goulburn Murray is excited to announce the AFL Goulburn Murray Tatura Milk Junior Netball Academy squads and coaches for 2020.

Following the recent announcement of the extension of the Netball Academy with the 14-year-old age group being added to the Junior Netball Academy. The new age group will build on the last years structure, with more of a specialised court structured development in preparing players for Netball Victoria Talent Pathway programs.

AFL Goulburn Murray Netball Administrator Peita Sleeth is excited about the progression and continued growth of the program.

“The improvements I have seen in Netballers that have been through the Academy can be attributed to the hard work our players and coaches put into every session. Our goal is to create a positive environment that fosters personal development with a group of passionate Netballers that are wanting to improve their skills”.

“We are privileged to have dedicated coaches working hard to develop a specialised program, with a focus on player improvement and individual skill development,” she said.

The AFL Goulburn Murray Junior Netball Academy is thrilled to announce director of coaching Ann Austin will again oversee the program and says the implementation of the program last year has been a significant step forward for the region.

“The program is fantastic for our region and I’m proud to see the advancement of the players in our academy and the benefit it has on the regions netballers”, mentioned Austin.

Ann in conjunction with last year’s  Academy coaches Emma Clignett, Ash Bradley and skills coach Jacqui Hudgson will deliver a program with an emphasis on  providing quality-based player development to support and complement Club, League and Netball Associations and in turn increase the depth of talent within the region, by exposing more players to a higher level of training, participation and coaching.

Ann reiterated the values of the Academy and stated  “The Academy strives to influence the behaviour and values of young players by providing a high-quality training and playing environment that supports the personal development of regionally based netball coaches in the program for the betterment of future netball athletes”

Academy participants will again be provided with a holistic approach to preparing them for Netball Victoria pathways incorporating skill development and provides squad members with the opportunity to develop into the best of their ability, ensuring they have an opportunity to advance in the sport.

Mackenzie O’Dwyer, 12 of Barooga is eager to commence her second year of the Netball Academy having been selected in the State School Victoria Primary School Team in 2019.

“I ended up making the Victorian Primary School Team and this is a credit to the AFL Goulburn Murray Netball Academy, I think they have helped me a lot.”

Tatura Milk along with Intersport Wingates have been the principle partners of the Netball Academy from its inception in 2019 and are proud to again be associated with such a supportive and progressive program.

The Shepparton Netball Association will this year also provide strong support for the Netball Academy and are a great addition as a sponsor of the Academy.

Coaches and selectors were very impressed with the high level of skill and effort demonstrated by all players through trials, which made selection of athletes for the 2020 Academy extremely difficult.  Overall, this has continued to be an exciting addition to the netball community, and we are looking forward to delivering a unique program to Academy participants through 2020 and beyond.

Congratulations to the players who were accepted into our 2020 Junior Netball Development Academy.

  2020 – 12-year-old Squad              20120- 13-year-old Squad            2020 – 14-year-old Squad

Jemma Albrey Murchison Ava Ahmet Shepparton Diaz Barzen Kialla
Irish Anderson Balmattum Sophie Allen Seymour Sienna Burke Jerilderie
Lucy Bicknell Shepparton Remi Bruton Shepparton Jasmine Burke Jerilderie
Sienna Carkeek Kialla Montanna Burke Pine Lodge Isla Carver Kyabram
Avah Creighton Kialla Zara Cuzens Kialla Mykaelah Castles Kialla
Olivia Dorria Seymour Hannah Greig Kialla Sahla Dunstan Moama
Sophie Eade Kialla Izzy Guthrie Congupna Maggie Egglestone Mooroopna
Lilly Fidock Tatura Amani Issell Mooroopna Taylah Groves Tallygaroopna
Georgie Hanlon Kialla Jaylah Meda Shepparton Demi Hendy Katunga
Rhani Hendy Katunga Gabby Moore Acardia Ruby Higgins Cobram
Bridie Kelly Katunga Benjamin Morgan Avenel Charlotte Hurlston Tocumwal
Alice Ludlow Grahamvale Sophie Munro Trawool Ruby Lynch Echuca
Ellie Morgan Kialla Mackenzie O’Dwyer Barooga Emelia Mercuri Euroa
Lara Moroney Shepparton Tahlia Pate Tocumwal Keeley O’Dwyer Barooga
Amalie Pate Tocumwal Charlotte Phillips Congupna Kaleisha Pell Yarrawonga
Holly Ralph Kialla Maggie Pittock Euroa Djuralillie Weston Shepparton
Jammison Stovell Kialla Madeline Rodda Shepparton
Olivia Thompson Tocumwal Adison Thornberry Seymour
Michaela Vera Shepparton Hannah Wells Shepparton
Tessa Warrin Numurkah Sienna Westblade Echuca


For more information contact AFL Goulburn Murray Netball Administration Officer

Peita Sleeth on 0404 259 286.


AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners