• Main page

Bushrangers Make Representative Squads

The Murray Bushrangers have been strongly represented in Vic Country and GWS Academy Squad Selections. Seven TAC Cup under 18 players have been selected in the Vic Country Squad and six players will represent the GWS Academy this Saturday in their Round one match against the Northern Territory. The Vic Country Squad begin a four day Camp in Melbourne today with the six GWS Academy players flying to Sydney on Friday.

Laitham Vandermeer (Mooroopna) – Overlooked in the 2017 National AFL Draft, returns as a 19-year-old and has been in the competitions best midfield utilities across the TAC Cup season in 2017 and 2018. Victoria Country selection is reward for consistency.

Zane Barzen (Shepparton united) – A member of the AFL Academy Level 2, Barzen will be a key forward in the Victoria Country Squad after only one game for the Bushrangers after being injured in Round 1 vs Gippsland.

Mark Marriott (Benalla) – Rated highly as ruckman, the Benalla product has played well in the opening three games of the 2018 season. Lightly built, Marriott offers the Victoria Country Squad a 200 plus centimetre ruckman who loves the contest.

Kyle Clarke (Shepparton United) – Consistency is paramount to Clarke who in his second year of TAC Cup football has transitioned from a defender to midfielder which offers the Victoria Country Squad flexibility which is vital at National level.
Lachlan Ash (Shepparton) – As a bottom age player selected in the Victoria Country squad, 2018 will be a development year at National Level but consistent form has him rewarded with Victoria Country selection for the camp. Has been excellent off half back while also moving through the midfield and going forwardat different stages. Makes good decisions under pressure.

The Murray Bushrangers also have seven players selected for the U16 Victorian Country Squad following the Under 16 TAC Cup Carnival. These players will attend a three training camps before the final squad of 26 is selected for the National Under 16 Championships in June and July.

The MBFC players are:

Zavier Maher – Shepparton United

Will Dwyer – Shepparton Swans

Jhett Cooper – Shepparton United

Jai Carn – Mooroopna

Harry Beasley – Cobram

Ethan Baxter – Shepparton

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners