Community Club Sustainability Program
  • Main page
  • Community Club Sustainability Program

Community Club Sustainability Program

AFL Victoria has developed the Community Club Sustainability Program which include tools to educate administrators, and particular players, about the impact that match-payments and player demands have on the viability of grassroots clubs.

After reviewing feedback from Metropolitan Leagues and Region Commissions following the release of a draft framework in 2015, the AFL Victoria Working Party has finalised a Player Points System which addresses the equalisation concerns and escalating player payments in community football.

AFL Victoria’s Community Club Sustainability Program has been further developed, following the release of its Player Payment Framework.

Designed in conjunction with the Player Points System, the Player Payment Framework has been developed to support and grow Australian Football at a community level by focussing on achieving evenly matched competitions and financially viable clubs.

The Player Points System was implemented by all Metropolitan Leagues and Region Commissions (except for the Picola District FNL) in season 2016, while the Player Payment Framework was adopted in 2017.

AFL Goulburn Murray Player Points Subcommittee

Clubs in all AFL GM Leagues have an opportunity to apply to the AFL GM Player Points Subcommittee for an allowance in addition to their Total Player Points Cap.  Applications are received in November (Round 1) and February (Round 2) each year.  The Subcommittee consists of the following personnel: Peter Foott & Andrew Chittick (AFL GM Commission), Martin Gleeson (Region General Manager), Grant Wilson (GVL), Dale Norman (MFL), Sharon O’Dwyer (KDFNL) and Shane Railton (PDFNL).

The following Total Player Points Values are in place:


2016 2017 2018
Points Cap 45 42 40
Shepparton Swans 46 44
Euroa 46


2016 2017 2018
Points Cap 45 42 42


2016 2017 2018
Points Cap 45 43 41
Longwood 50 50 48
Girgarre 46 44
Rushworth 44
Ardmona 46
Undera 44


2016 2017 2018
Points Cap n/a 48 45
Blighty 60 48
Rennie 69 50
Deniliquin Rovers 46
Mathoura 48

Allowable Player Payments

The AFL Goulburn Murray Commission sets the Allowable Player Payments Cap in each League in consultation with the League and clubs.  The Allowable Player Payments for each League are:

2017 2018
GVL $185,000 $180,000
MFL $150,000 $145,000
KDFNL $85,000 $85,000
PDFNL N/A $105,000

Please see below links for resources as part of the  Community Club Sustainability Program: