• Main page

Final NCWL Interleague Team Announced

After a couple of training sessions and from monitoring club performances the MBCM Northern Country Women’s League has finalised its team for its inaugural clash against Central Victoria Football League Women’s at Queen Elizabeth Oval Bendigo on Saturday 15 July.

The coaching panel is made up of Mick McInnes from Echuca and John Wilson from Shepparton with Emma Glazebrook as Team Manager.

AFL Goulburn Murray League Operations Officer Sharon O’Dwyer identified selections were closely contested but a strong side has ultimately been chosen.

“From a strong initial squad it was a difficult task for the selectors but ultimately they have been able to select the best 23 with three emergencies for Sunday’s big match” she said.

“The girls have proven themselves during club matches and in the first two trainings and should be really proud of securing a position in the first ever NCWL team.”

“Being our first interleague game there are a number of unknowns but we are confident in the depth of players we have and this will help us put up a good performance.”

“All clubs are represented in the final team and at the final training session on Friday there was a palpable excitement at the opportunity the players have to pit themselves against the best from Central Victoria.”

“The game will also be part of a female football celebration at the QEO with a Northern Football League female game played in the morning, Richmond playing Casey Demons in the VFLW at 2pm and then our game will commence at 4:30pm.”

Event Details:
Date: Sunday 15 July
Venue: QEO, Bendigo
Time: 4:30pm

MBCM NCWL 2018 Interleague Team
Jayde Burden – Benalla
Brittany Button – Benalla
Elizabeth Lewis – Benalla
Sophie Douglas – Echuca
Bree Gaylor – Echuca
Jodie Lake – Echuca
Jess Pitts – Echuca
Tayla Stewart – Echuca
Tenay  Fellows – Kerang
Donal Fellows – Kerang
Emily  Munroe – Kerang
Bianca  Wise – Kerang
Paige Baksh – Mooroopna
Amelia Bye – Mooroopna
Ilmie Cuthbert – Mooroopna
Tiarna Steel – Mooroopna
Kirsty  Hommes – Nathalia
Kym John – Nathalia
Vanessa Ward – Nathalia
April Atkinson – Rumbalara
Iesha McGee – Rumbalara
Tearnie Brown – Shepparton
Breanna Davison – Shepparton
Samatha Heron – Shepparton
Ashlee Thorneycroft – Shepparton
Sarah West – Shepparton

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners