• Main page

State Award Named in Sidebottom Honour

Unveiled at the annual AFL Victoria Community Football Awards on Friday night, the Greg Sidebottom Memorial Umpire Coach of the Year award recognises one of the state’s top community umpire coaches who has helped shape the next generation of Victorian umpires.

The naming of the Greg Sidebottom Memorial Umpire Coach of the Year award comes after the Goulburn Valley Football Umpires Association Life Member tragically passed away last season.

AFL Goulburn Murray Region General Manager Martin Gleeson said the award was one that paid tribute to Greg’s impact on the game and wider football community.

“Greg’s involvement in community football not only within our region, but across Victoria was significant and the naming of this award in his honour confirms his standing as one of the great contributors to the game over 40 years” he said.

“His knowledge and passion for umpiring was shared at a grassroots level, in recruiting new members and mentoring the next generation and assisting with their development.”

“Greg was universally popular and respected, not only with his fellow umpires but with players, club officials and staff within the region.”

“There is no doubt this award will very quickly become very prestigious in community umpiring in Victoria and to carry the Sidebottom name will only add to the honour and legacy he has left behind.”

Officiating in 39 VFL/AFL games from 1983 to 1987, Greg returned to local football in 1988 where he was appointed the Director of Umpiring at the then Eastern Districts Football League.

Moving to the Goulburn Murray region, Greg had an immediate impact in the community, both on and off the field.

A life member of both the Goulburn Valley Football Umpires Association (GVUA) and Shepparton Youth Club United, Greg remained a valuable contributor to the state competition as a VFL Umpires’ Observer.

The inaugural recipient of the Greg Sidebottom Memorial Umpire Coach of the Year award will be announced at the AFL Victoria Community Football Award Gala Dinner in Melbourne on Friday November 3 where the region also has Finley Youth Girls Coach Jorja Daniel (Female Coach of the Year), SGR Giants’ Andrew Hipwell (Junior Coach of the Year) and Kyabram’s Paul Newman (Senior Coach of the Year) as finalists in their respective categories.

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners