• Main page

Vic Country Finalises Big V Squads

AFL Victoria is pleased to announce its Energy Safe Victoria Country Under 19 and WorkSafe Vic Country representative squads ahead of the AFL Victoria Community Cup on Sunday July 8.

An extended squad of 29-players has been named for Vic Country ahead of their blockbuster clash against Vic Metro, when the pair go head-to-head at Ballarat’s MARS Stadium.

Eleven leagues are represented in the Vic Country senior outfit, with Geelong Football Netball League boasting the most selections with six representatives, followed by Ovens and Murray Football League (five), Goulburn Valley League (four) and Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League (four).

St. Kilda great Danny Frawley will once again coach the WorkSafe AFL Vic Country side for the second consecutive year, as he prepares to secure his first win in the role.

Seymour’s Jason Cole has been named the captain of the Vic Country squad, while Xavier Moloney (Swan Hill FC), Kayne Pettifer (Kyabram FC) and Bob McCallum (Drouin FC) will support him in the role of Vice Captains.

Energy Safe Victoria Country Under 19 coach, Damian Sexton has released a final squad of 23-players including one emergency, who will line up against the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA) in the annual Under 19 Challenge Cup.

Of the nine leagues represented in the Energy Safe Vic Country Under 19 squad, Ovens & Murray FNL and Mornington Peninsula NFL are the best represented with five selections each, followed by Goulburn Valley L and Geelong FNL with four selections.

Edithvale-Aspendale’s Nick Carlon will lead the brightest young country football talent as captain, while Wangaratta’s Bradley Melville has earned the role as vice-captain.

Energy Safe Vic Country Under 19 has recorded emphatic victories in its last four encounters against VAFA, defeating their metro rivals by four-points last year at Frankston Oval.

The Under 19 Challenge Cup match will kick off at 11.30am before the highly anticipated 2018 AFL Victoria Community Cup clash between Vic Country and Vic Metro at 2pm.

Both representative matches will be Live Streamed at the AFL Victoria website


U19s Challenge Cup

  • WHO: Energy Safe Vic Country vs VAFA
  • WHEN: Sunday, July 8
  • TIME: 11:30am
  • VENUE: MARS Stadium (Ballarat)
  • HASHTAG: #U19ChallengeCup

AFL Victoria Community Cup

  • WHO: Vic Country vs Vic Metro
  • WHEN: Sunday, July 8
  • TIME: 2pm
  • VENUE: MARS Stadium (Ballarat)
  • HASHTAG: #BushVBurbs



  • Adults: $10 (18 years+)
  • Concession: $5 (Pensioners, students)
  • Children Under 15: FREE


1 Liam Duguid Shepparton Bears
2 Darby Henderson Echuca
3 Nick Carlon (Capt) Edithvale-Aspendale
4 Joe Richards Wangaratta
5 Jack Schilg Corowa
6 Tom Small Mt. Eliza
7 Nick Stuhldrier Bacchus Marsh
8 Jarrod Walters St. Marys
9 Connor Newham Wodonga Raiders
10 Josh Harris Rosebud
11 Ethan Floyd Colac
12 Angus Byrne Echuca
13 Bradley Melville (VC) Wangaratta
14 Matthew Casey Yarrawonga
15 Harry Benson St. Marys
16 Bradley Whitford Kyabram
17 Patrick Bruzzese Wandin
18 Kieran Jones Maffra
19 Sam James Nth Warnambool
20 Bailey Breen Mt. Eliza
21 Jack Scanlon Gisborne
22 Lachlan Noble South Barwon
23 Jarrod Sullivan (Emerg) Karingal



1 Adam Baird Golden Square
2 Xavier Moloney Swan Hill
3 Tom Ruggles Leopold
4 Andrew Collins Sandhurst
5 Steve Stroobants Rochester
6 Jason Cole Seymour
7 Dale Hinkley Birchip-Watchem
8 Lochlan Veale Colac
9 Jack Geary Golden Square
10 Kayne Pettifer Kyabram
11 Brandon Symes Yarrawonga
12 Jack Blood St Mary’s
13 Andrew Jarvis Ocean Grove
14 Jydon Neagle Wodonga Raiders
15 Dylan Van Berlo Wangaratta
16 Nick Meredith Lavington
17 Zac Zdybel Colac
18 Brenton Credlin Frankston YCW
19 Ryan Monaghan Colac
20 Lachie Wallace Frankston YCW
21 Mick Mattingly Kyabram
22 Bob McCallum Drouin
23 Christian Ongarello Frankston YCW
24 Sam Fox Frankston Bombers
25 Todd Stevenson Bell Park
26 Harry Wheeler Yarrawonga
27 Jaxon Briggs Cora Lynn
28 Jarrod Korewha Koroit
29 Lachlan Bramble Sunbury Lions

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners