• Main page


AFL Victoria is pleased to announce its Vic Metro and Vic Country representative squads ahead of the 2018 AFL National Inclusion Carnival next month.

Two squads of 16 of Victoria’s best footballers with an intellectual disability, including five emergencies across both squads, have been chosen to don the Big-V jumper as they prepare to take on the top talent from across the country.

Ten players will return to the Metro squad from last year’s premiership side, while six new players along with four emergencies from the WISE Employment Metropolitan Conference- Victorian FIDA Football League (VFFL) will pull on representative colours for the first time.

The Metro squad features representatives from ten different WISE Employment Metropolitan Conference VFFL clubs, with Williamstown Seagulls (five), Ferntree Gully Eagles (three) and Sandown Cobras (three) boasting the most representatives.

Williamstown Seagulls coach Rob Klemm will once again lead the Metro squad as Head Coach for the fourth consecutive year after leading his team to a 53-point victory over NSW/ACT in last year’s Grand Final.

Fellow state team Vic Country will welcome seven new players to its representative squad, with 10 players returning to the side after finishing third in 2017.

All eleven regional clubs within the VFFL are represented, with eight players from the CVGT Australia Northern Conference selected, while a further eight players hail from the Western Conference.

Selection to the Vic Country squad comes following the first representative practice match between the two country VFFL conferences, which saw over 30 regional players showcase their skills at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval.

Leading the Country squad for the first time is GV Stars coach Steve Reeves.

With experience coaching senior interleague with the Kyabram District Football League and Dookie Utd, Reeves will take over from Matt Deegan after two years at the helm.

Held annually, the AFL National Inclusion Carnival provides an opportunity for footballers with an intellectual disability to represent their state in a week-long competition.

All states and territories will have a team represented in the competition, with squads from Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia, NSW/ACT, Northern Territory and Western Australia joining Vic Metro and Vic Country.

The 2018 National Inclusion Carnival will take place in Launceston, Tasmania from June 18-23.



Anthony Bird Geelong Dragons
Darcy Spicer Bendigo Dockers
Evan Reeves Ballarat Bulldogs
Hary Hunter Ballarat Bulldogs
Jackson Reeves GV Stars
Jarrod Redcliffe Wodonga Jets
Joshua Jose Merriwa Magpies
Kelvin Walters St. Francis Xavier Saints
Kieran Hartwich Hamilton Boomers
Luke Byrne South Warrnambool Hurricanes
Matt Taylor Grampians Giants
Matthew Bear Merriwa Magpies
Mitch Rabl Bendigo Dockers
Steve Ingram Bendigo Dockers
Tom Brody Hamilton Boomers
Tyson Harris Wimmera Whippets
Jeff Kinvig (Emergency) Echuca Moama Rockets
Steve Reeves (Head Coach) GV Stars
Gordon Godwin (Assistant Coach) Hamilton Boomers
Tom McCarthy (Team Manager) Ballarat Bulldogs/Grampians Giants



Sean Martin Kananook Bulls
Shaun Doll St. Francis Xavier Saints
Lachlan Essing Ferntree Gully Eagles
Jamie Misfud Wyndham Tigers
Aaron Grey Williamstown Seagulls
Yaser Shubeilat Williamstown Seagulls
Dave Alford Williamstown Seagulls
Michael Scholz Sandown Cobras
Alan Meiklem Parkside FC
Jose Vaskess Ferntree Gully Eagles
Damien Clarke Sandown Cobras
Joel Nicol Kananook Bulls
Rodney Pettit Williamstown Seagulls
Kelvin O’Connor Williamstown Seagulls
Brandon Sandars Coburg Lions
Daryl Gard Parkside FC
Ben Smith (Emergency) St. Albans FC
Daniel Hogan (Emergency) Mount Waverley Demons
Daynah Hopkins (Emergency) Ferntree Gully Eagles
Troy Gibbs (Emergency) Sandown Cobras
Rob Klemm (Head Coach) Williamstown
Daryl Gard (Assistant Coach) Parkside FC
Jenny Loughnan (Team Manager)  

AFL Goulburn Murray Premier Partner

AFL GM Academy Partners